P.F Strawson

Main Content

The Philosophy of P.F. Strawson

(Volume XXVI, 1998)

P.F. (now Sir Peter) Strawson has been a leading figure of analytic philosophy, both in its "ordinary language" period, and in its subsequent phase, which he helped to initiate, of renewed grappling with perennial metaphysical problems. He became prominent for several brilliant early articles, such as "Truth" (1949) and "On Referring" (1950). His subsequent books, especially Individuals (1959) and The Bounds of Sense (1966), confirmed his reputation as one of the handful of most acute of living philosophical intellects. While firmly in the analytic tradition founded by Russell and Moore, he has learned from many sources; he views Aristotle and Kant as the greatest of philosophers. 

Table of Contents

P.F. Strawson: Intellectual Autobiography 

P.F. Strawson

(Replies follow essays)

Ruth Millikan: Proper Function and Convention in Speech Acts 
Susan Haack: Between the Scylla of Scientism and the Charybdis of Apriorism 
E. M. Adams: On the Possibility of a Unified Worldview 
Panayot Butchvarov: The Relativity of "Really's" 
Richard Behling: Two Kinds of Logic? 
John McDowell: Referring to Oneself 
Simon Blackburn: Relativization and Truth 
Tadeusz Szubka: Strawson and Anti-Realism 
David Haight: Reference and Reality 
Joseph Wu: P. F. Strawson's Criticism of Formal Logic 
Andrew Black: Naturalism and Cartesian Skepticism 
David Pears: Strawson on Freedom and Resentment 
Robert Boyd: Strawson on Induction 
Hilary Putnam: Strawson and Skepticism 
Paul Snowdon: Strawson on the Concept of Perception 
Arindam Chakrabarti: Experience, Concept-Possession and Knowledge of a Language 
Wenceslao Gonzalez: Strawson's Moderate Empiricism: The Philosophical Basis of His Approach in the Theory of Knowledge 
Ernest Sosa: Strawson's Epistemological Naturalism 
Chung M. Tse: Strawson's Metaphysical Theory of Subject and Predicate

Bibliography of P. F. Strawson